A day at the footie

A day at the footie
By QLB4 Copyright 29/05/2016

Fabulous afternoon at footie
Nephew in Cup Final
at local ground

Waiting for kick off
Beer and nice chat
With brother-in-law
And rugby playing nephew

Then it’s kick off time
Both teams good
Ours dominant in first half
Parents, siblings and Auntie
Enjoying the excitement
Calling and applauding
Desperately videoing badly

Our lad is on the bench
Waiting for his chance
Then 35 mins in
They bring him on
I feel nervous
As if it was me
Turn to my sister and tell her
She looks at me and says
I was just thinking the same
Eeeek!
Then he gets his first touch
Right in front of us
He does well
Good kick
Good placement
And we all settle back
And enjoy

The game was excellent
Conduct good
Crowd calling support
Our team lost 2-1
But another day
They would have won

Sad to lose
But heads held high
3rd in league gave 1st in league
A run for their money
Well done guys
Good work

So we all head home
For curry
In front of the rugby
My niece chatting away
About shopping with mum
Before the game

Shows me her new jumping shoes
With silver toes
Quotes her mother in a silly voice
“Their colour is very versatile  and will go with many items of clothing”

Then she and younger nephew
Lark about in the garden
And my sister and I join them
Handstands
Yoga
Cartwheels
Round offs
Ab work
All sorts
Lots of laughs
Pets in the way

Then it’s time to head home
So go to say goodbye and well done
To my footballing hero
Only to find him
Asleep on the sofa
In front of Grand Prix
A well earned rest
If you ask me

What a fabulous day
At the footie

Leave a comment